Coral Vue Hydros

Plans for a pico

baj

Hi,

Ive been lurking for quite a while now and I want to now try to start a pico 2.5g tank. Yes, I am a salt water newbie (I have kept planted nanos for quite a while now but I think thats a totally different ballgame, no?) and no i cannot keep a bigger tank because I live in student housing. However, i assure you i will be responsible. I do not plan on keeping any farmed or wild live rock, I only plan on keeping cured lace rock (so i will feel less guilty of playing a small part in destroying a real reef somewhere on the other side of the planet, if my project goes down the toilet really quickly) in the tank and I wont put in any livestock until I know that I have a nice place set for them. So having that out of the way, I would be grateful if i could get some feedback on my plans and timeline.

Plans:

Equipment:

1) 2.5g AGA tank

2) Lighting - 2x13W PC w/ 1 10,000K and 1 10,000K/Actinic (should i go for 4x13W instead or will 2x13W be enough, I plan to eventually keep zoas)

3) Cured Lace Rock - 5lbs

4) Live sand - enough for 1.5" deep bed?

5) Aquaclear Fuge with cheato

6) Hagen 50W heater

7) Circulation - 1 rio 50 powerhead

Timeline:

1) t=0th day: Get approval from nano-reef gurus

2) t=10d, setup tank with live sand, salt mix, run powerhead for 14 days

3) t=24d, setup liverock and run powerhead for 16days

4) t=40th day after get-approval-from-nano-reef-gurus day, introduce livestock

I would be very grateful for any help...If these plans are stupid, then please tell me that I am stupid (I wont mind, but better I correct myself)

Thank you!

regards,

-b

I would do this:

Timeline:

2) t=1d, setup tank with live sand, liverock, salt water, run powerhead.

3) t=2d ->,Start checking water parameters. Top off w/ distilled water as needed.

4) t=??d, All water tests = 0. Add cleanup crew. Begin weekly 10% water changes.

5) t=14 to 30 days after #4 begin slowly adding livestock.