inTank Media Baskets

Eclipse 12

iFish

My grandfather recently moved to Florida nearby myself and has become fascinated with my marine aquariums. He has an Eclipse 12 gallon that currently is FW, but he wants to convert it. How difficult is it to retrofit a light system into the canopy? I'm not a do-it-yourselfer but he is. Do you reccomend using the marineland filter that comes with the tank? What retro is good? I would suggest to him a whole new canopy but the tank is slightly curved so that may be a difficult build. Please help on this, I have no experience with Eclipse tanks. I am giving him the link to this thread, hopefully he will become a member soon. :)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------My goal is to make everyone I know a reefer. :P

First off, is it the rectangle glass 12 gallon eclipse setup or is it the bow front acrylic 12 gallon setup. I have both and they are completely different hoods. The rectangle glass setup has a large plastic covered bulb area that is great for 1 (or even 2 if you squeeze them) 32 watt retrofit kits. The bow front hood comes with a stock 13 watt bulb with a small plastic cover. It can be retofitted but will not have the plastic cover. I originally had a 32 watt on the bow front and it fits and works fine, I have a couple small children that loke to play with the tanks and the open bulb thing hanging over the water just scares me too much to have kept it that way so now it is back to stock and fish only. Anyway, the short answer is yes it can be retrofitted.