Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Need test result interpretation

Chineseghoststory

Chineseghoststory

Maybe this does not belong in the general discussion area but over in the beginner's area, but for one I am not a beginner with fish exactly, and two, I don't want to wait for three days for this post to get one paltry response.

I am well aware of what nitrate, nitrite, ammonia and Ph are and what they each indicate, but after doing my first in-home test this evening on my one-month old 7 gal. nano, I need a more expert opinion as to where everything is in the cycling process. The results do not exactly correspnd to what is mentioned as normal in the articles section so some interpretation may be in order.

I have only one damsel in my tank plus sand and LR, and of course, equipment. No clean up crew yet. I do have some brown algae that has to be scraped from the glass occasionaly, and an occasional very small spot of red algae. I tested using an Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Saltwater Master Test Kit which I found pretty easy to use and which gave unambiguous results that were for the most part easy to interpret. Let's do the numbers!

Ph: 8.2 (I know that's a good one)

ammonia: .40 (probably due to slight overfeeding recently, ooops!)

nitrites: 0

nitrates: 5.0

Okay so what do we make of this? How far along in the cycling does this say I am? When to add the clean up crew and how many of what to start off with?

Thanks,

Jeff

That all seems pretty normal for an initial cycle. I'd have two suggestions:

1 - You might want to get in the habit of testing for alkalinity and Ca depending on what you want to keep in the tank.

2 - When posting, make sure you post all of the details of your tank (size, filtration, lbs of rock and sand, livestock, lighting, any additives, anything you can think of)