inTank Media Baskets

What's wrong with my Potters Angel?

NorCalTRD

So today I got my rather new potters angel some new frozen food rather than the dry flake that he doesnt seem to eat much. After about 30 minutes and eating a lot he started to rub up against some of the rockwork in my tank. It doesn't look like there is anything wrong with him physically but what is he doing? Is it ich? I'm still new at this so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jordan

The fish has been in the tank 30 minutes? or thristy minutes after feeding it frozen, it's flashing on the rocks?

Potter's Angels aren't an easy Centropyge species to keep. How big is it and in what size tank? how long have you had it and was it eating before you bought it?

GL, those are beautiful fish.

Well... I'm sorry to say all it is right now is a 24 gallon NC but I will be sizing up by the end of the year. I just got him for a really good deal that was impossible to pass up. He is still pretty small i'd say maybe 2" right now. He has been in there for about 3 weeks now and has been eating mostly off the live rock and algae in the tank but I also feed him flake every few days. I wanted to vary his diet so I bought some frozen cube stuff at the LFS. That's where we leave off... He doesn't seem to be rubbing on the rock anymore as of now but I will keep an eye on him tomorrow. Any idea what it could be?

Did you get it local or online? If it's local it could just be acclimation problems. If it's ordered it could be anything since we dont know what it was kept in or looked like before. thats one good thing about buying local, the fish can be seen and hand picked by you. You can see it disease free and eating.