Top Shelf Aquatics

Strange...got any ideas?

Chase

Im new to the nano-reef thing so I use the books I have to identify things...but no luck with these two.

There were at the bottom of a small tank at my LFS and they were going to let them die, so I gave them $5 to try and save them.

If anyone could help me identify them, and tell me what I should do to keep the little guys alive, I would really apreciate it!

Misc_117.jpg

Misc_118.jpg

They look like gorgonians to me. I dont know anything about them though so i cant tell you whether they are good or bad shape.

Thanks Pili, its a start, Ill start looking into them. Do you think there both gorgonians? The purple one is much thicker, but only an inch thick.

Hmmmm...

Yep, gorgonians.

The top one looks pretty bad - the thin parts are the skeleton, which means its tissue is receeding. Looks like the same is happening to the bottom one.

Unfortunately, as you say you're new the hobby, I really doubt they're going to survive long in your tank. Good luck, anyway.

Both are gorgonians. The black parts are exposed skeleton, and the white parts are bleached flesh. I'd agree that they most likely won't make it... Just try to get them some good flow. And if you took them out of the bags and exposed them to air, that's two big strikes against them. Sorry...

4 things:

1. I'd cut off the exposed skeleton, but make sure to do it under the water.

2. Some say to seal the cuts with superglue. I've never done it but someone else might chime in on that. (Some also say to seal any weird discolorations or tissue abscesses with glue too...)

3. Make sure they get high flow.

4. The general rule of thumb with gorgons is if they are thick, they tend to be photosynthetic...and tend to be non-photosynthetic if they are thin. Though there are exceptions to this trend, I'd recommend feeding phyto and cyclopeeze.

OK, first wow! I cant get help this fast at my local emergency room!