Cultivated Reef

Detrivore Kit

LSUtiger

I'm finally about to purchase my detrivore kit.

I think I am going with teh one offered by inland aquatics at

http://www.inlandaquatics.com/prod/prod_detrit.html

It includes mysis shrimp, gammarus shrimp, amphipods, copepods, miniature brittle stars, and bristle worms.

The page says it can effectively seed a 55 gal tank. I only have a 7G, but I'm thinking that it is still ok for a 7G. Can someone tell me if they agree or not? I can purchase indivdually if I need to.

Also, is it a good mix of bugs or should I have any other bugs in there as well? Thanks in advance for the help.

Mark

If just looking for a cleanup crew, this seems rather excesssive, unless this is all you want in your tank.

I think some snails, some shrimp, and some hermits are fine for cleanup. After all, once you figure the rock and sand in your tank, will you even have 7g?

Granted, I'm new to Nanos', but still seems rather expensive. Get some basic critters, and then add later.

printerdown01

I think it will be over kill for a 7 gallon. If you used LR you probably already have amphipods, copepods, and bristleworms... However, it sounds pretty decent. See if you can find someone in your area to either "donate" some stuff to, or someone who is willing to buy at a discount rate! I already looked to see if I was near you, to make an offer, but you are a little too far for me ;).

I ordered their kit for my fuge and I specified that the tank and fuge held a total of 9 1/2 gallons with no rock or sand, probably closer to half that with the rock and sand. I requested a smaller portion so as to avoid die off and wasting life. Not sure if they cut my amount back as I didn't have a full sized order to compare it to. I do know that I paid the full price. My fuge is loaded with critters now. If you plan on stocking a fuge you definitely don't need 55 gallons worth as they will multiply fast.