Coral Vue Hydros

Questions, tips, help.

LTJRTW

Hi, I'm a beginner when it comes to reef. I have a friend who's been really into it for a while and eventually turned me onto it. I've been looking around the net trying to plan out my tank, and I've realized there are many different schools of thought when it comes to reefs. It seems as though the science of nano reefs, if you'd like to call it a science, is more like an arrangement of popular opinion and superstition based on facts that we do know an previous experiences. So, to get more to the point, I'm looking to do either and 11 or 18 gal tank, probably glass. I'd like for anyone reading to this to post some kind of comment. I know I'm leaving this open ended, but please, pick something you feel is important, whether it be your favorite type of coral, a lesson you learned the hard way, a tip on lighting, filtration method, or really anything else you feel is pertinent or feel a beginner would benefit from knowing early on. So I'll continue my research and I

ll check back and hopefully some of you will have some cool ideas. Thanks.

Start out by planning in advance for the critters you want to keep. If you want to house acroporas, get the best lighting that you can afford. I have found that two frags from the same colony can have drastically different results when placed in the tank. They can be hit or miss. Some sps corals are much easier to keep and reguire much less stringent lighting requirements. Figure out what you want to keep, then figure out what equipment to buy. When it comes to ordering the corals, you can go to a lfs and buy a healthy specimen and pay thru the nose or you can go to hobbyists like monoghan's reef and purchase high quality frags that come in excellent sizes. I had two successes out of 5 with his frags. One death was for no appareny reason. The others were a combination of algae issues and my meat hooks banging into them.