Coral Vue Hydros

Do your worst! Need suggestions...

IHaveGreyhounds

IHaveGreyhounds

Ok, so awhile back I decided to try my first saltwater tank as a small reef tank. I am new to saltwater, but not to aquaria in general. I have six healthy freshwater tanks ranging from 20 – 90 gallons. So after much reading here is what I have created. A few of the items were not bought specifically for this tank, but in the interest of saving some money I used what I had (yeah, that is a lot of heater for a 15 gallon tank, and yes those lights were just borrowed from other tanks).

Below I have every spec I could think of about where I am at now. The tank is still cycling and is still a learning experience for me. I have done a lot of reading, here and elsewhere and I think everything I have done was based on something I read somewhere. As a newcomer the most overwhelming thing is the variety of opinions out there. Some which contradict each other completely. So here are my questions:

1) Have I made any major foul ups? Anything I just have to fix immediately that I just missed completely?

2) What should be the next thing(s) I should spend money on to replace or add to this system?

3) Once the tank finishes cycling any suggestions for good beginner organisms? I know one big factor here will be if I replace the lighting (which is likely… if I could only decide on what to get). What organisms could do well under my low light conditions that I currently have?

4) I know this gets asked all the time, but what lights would you put on this tank? I’d like the lighting to be able to meet the needs of a range of organisms, but money is a factor here. I am hoping to spend in the neighborhood of $200, and that seems to rule out some of the really nice high end stuff. Any ideas? Or for that matter, how many watts of light would be a good goal considering the max depth is about 9 inches?

5) Any other suggestions/comments/concerns?

Thanks for any input! :-)