Cultivated Reef

need some opinions...

v_dubb_it_up

v_dubb_it_up

I'm new to marine setups, but not to fish keeping in general. I am 19 and have successfully kept freshwater fish in tanks of various sizes, 33 gallon being the largest, since I was 11 years old. A salt water setup has been tempting me since I got into fish, but I have just never had enough money to fund the project. Anyway, I finally am financially stable enough to start with a smaller marine setup. I have purchased most things (I think) that I may need. I'm starting with a 10 g setup. I purchased the whole setup from the guy I buy all my freshwater supplies/livestock from. He was nice enough to leave some water, sand, and about 1 1/2 pounds of live rock (which also included about 5 or so hermits) from his setup that he later moved into a larger tank. The setup came with stand, glass 10 g tank, brand new canopy, 2 mini compact 50/50 bulbs, hang-on filter/pump, 75 w heater, and free salt. I set it up as soon as I brought it home. All my hermits seem to be doing well, and water quality is surprisingly good for only being set up for a day or so. Must be because of the rocks/sand.water that was left in the tank from the previous setup. Anyway, my biggest question is how long should I wait to introduce new invertabrae like crabs, shrimp, snails, ect.? Will I have to wait as long even though there was things left over from the previous setup? the hermits that appeared after I set everything up seem to be doing very well, so I don't know. Also, I plan to eventually add some coral to the tank, and was wondering if anyone has any experience with the 50/50 bulbs. The previous setup that was in the tank before I bought it seemed to do alright with it. Also, any other tips that are specific to marine setups would be great. Thanks