ReefCleaners.org

Yellow leather

Bonster

O.K. most of you know about my shopping spree on Saturday, here's the problem. My yellow leather doesn't look so good. It's not opening and the colour is fading. I talked to the guy at the lfs and he assured me it was not difficult to keep. He lied!! After more research I have found that it is mostly referred to as expert only. Let me tell you I'm no expert!! Never trust guys at lfs!! Anyway this baby cost me $60.00 and if anyone has any advise as to how to keep it alive please let me know. Everything else is doing great. Thanks

P.S. I have it placed high middle tank. I dose with coral vite once a week.

printerdown01

Most leathers are VERY easy to keep! What do you have Sarco. elegans? This is yellow, and sometimes has a VERY hard time dealing with shipping and new tanks! Also the comment "the color is fading" conserns me a bit... Can you elaborate? How "yellow" is yellow... are we talking like neon yellow here (dye)...?

i'm assuming it's a sarco elegans, yellow leather from your 'expert' description. the other difficult ones aren't really yellow.

s. elegans needs high light requirements and decent water flow imo. (3"~4" per sec.) i'd recommend 5w/gal at NO at least. they seem to like daylight spectrum more imo but i always run actinic supplements anyway, whether i'm running 10K's or lower.

also i've always dosed iodine and iodide (KI) in my tanks for their benefit. coral vite has a little KI as i remember but you should get the Tech I or their iodide supplement at least imo.