ReefCleaners.org

My cleaner shrimp didnt even live for 1 hr!

nsnspanky

I just bought a cleaner shrimp to put into my tank.. and when i put it in it died in about 45 min? Is tehre something wrong with my tank? I'm a newbie with saltwater fish.. So any help will be greatly appreciated!

The same thing happened to me a few months ago. I think it may have been stress but i really have no idea. How long did you acclimate it for?

I dont know what the parameter is b/c when i was going to buy the kit my friend at the LFS said " Dont worry about it just do regular water changes since its only 10 gal tank". But i've had the tank for a while. I have 2 camel shrimps in it that is doing fine.

When i brought it back i left it in the tank for about 20 min.

how much live rock do you have? Whats your temperature? Whats your gravity?

If you cant answer those three right now please tank everything back before it dies..

CRAVIN CRITTERS

HATE TO FLAME YOU BUT YOU ARE STUPID FOR NOT DOING YOUR RESEARCH. dO YOU EVEN HAVE LIVE ROCK AND IF SO HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN IN YOUR TANK. YOU ARNT EVEN ACLIMATING IT RIGHT. IVE BEEN RESEARCHING FOR 6 MONTHS AND IM JUST NOW GETTING MY LIVE ROCK. AND ANOTHER BIGGIE NEVER TRUST THE PEOPLE AT YOUR LOCAL FISH STORE EVEN IF THERE YOUR FRIEND UNLESS THEY HAVE HAD A SUCCESFUL NANO REEF.

newbiecarlz

settle cravin.. theres nothing about having no LR in this thread

spanky, shimp are really sensitive to changes in water parameters, im guessing you might not have acclimated him well enough.

next time make sure you acclimate by dripping small amounts of your tank water over an hour or so and please do get a test kit and test your paramaters before you add anything else, you really do need it.

Originally posted by CRAVIN CRITTERS

Im not mad at him about live rock Im mad at him because he obviously hasnt done his research.