Top Shelf Aquatics

Newbie needs help figuring setup out.

herbiehusker74

herbiehusker74

Ok I'm new to the nano reef scene, but I always make sure EVERYTHING I am planning out will work great when the lives of animals are in my control. So I want to set up a 5 gallon nano reef(10 if ya'll think it better for a newbie). I live in the desert southwest and we often have problems maintaing a room at the temperture range that is suitable for a reef (it gets to be 120 outside, so 88 or so is possible inside). So I need to figure out a way to cool the little booger down. I would like to try the Cool Works IceProbe, and need to know how to make sure I don't overcool the inhabitants. Can I just use a slighty larger than normal heater? I am trying to avoid spending the 160 bucks for a Medusa chiller controller, but I guess if I had to I would. I was thinking that if a set up the Powerhead next to the heater and the IceProbe next to another powerhead on the back side of the tank I could even out the temperature fluctations.

I expect to require Lots of information, because it is important to me that I do not kill the inhabitants of the tank, so I want to give them the most perfect enviroment within reason.

For a 5 gallon tank I am willing to spend up to 700 dollars on equipment, and say 800 for a 10 gallon if ya'll say it would be better. Give me your ideas for setups where money is not a large concern...I would even spend more if I needed to.

I think you should start another thread in the Classifieds section.

Want to Buy: Custom setup 10 gal.

Have one of the guys here (some are in the business) put together the system for you, given your parameters and climate needs. I'm sure someone will give you a break on stuff, so you may not have to shell out a lion's share of your $800 on equipment.

Just a thought.

Welcome aboard Herbie. I've heard good things about the IceProbe. Talk to Crakeur. I believe he's been using one.