Innovative Marine Aquariums

Nano-Crash!!!!!

jeromieg

OK... I am new to using the 24g Nano-cube, as in 72 hours new.

I am going through a nasty divorce and was having major trouble with the 65g AGA tank that I had set up at my wofes house before I moved. I could not maintain it and on Friday I was able to get a 24g Nanocube from a LFS in town. They said that I should be ok to take some substrate, liverock and corals from the existing tank. Things were still healthy in the large tank, but I knew they were starting to get distressed just by the way the LPS's looked when I showed up there on Friday.

I moved water, substrate, rock and many corals to the nano-cube for the weekend so that on Monday I could tkae most of it to the LFS for trade in since I have more than I can responsibly keep in the tank. I left for National Guard drill for the weekend and came back to dead fish, snails, and very very sick corals. Bristle worms and ministars are everywhere and now I do not know where to start!!!!!

Can I remove the dead items, and do a water change and hope the rock and some of the LPS's make it?

I did not have time to read up on the problems of nanotanks, but I also did not have time to leave everything at my wifes house to die due to neglect either. I guess I was damned if I did and damned if I didn't. So please keep the flame posts about being irresponsible to a minimum. I was under a huge time crunch to make a move to save what stuff I could and ended up making it worse in the process.

Jeromie

You can probably save the rock.

Seems that at this point, its at least worth a try.

sorry for the bad situation,

best of luck

I'm so sorry you are having problems with your Nano-cube.

I'm very new to reef keeping myself and having a few problems as well.