SaltCritters.com

shroom uncomfortable or splitting?

davinaster

Or both?

This shroom (it's an incredible electric green that I just couldn't capture) has been in my tank for about 2 weeks. It's never seemed very comfortable - always shifting, contracting and so forth. Sometimes it looks like it melted. But until a few days ago, it was expanding and laying flat some of the time. Last night I noticed it looked pinched in the middle and it occured to me that it might be splitting, but I expected it to form a new mouth first.

It is in a high flow area, but doesn't seem to be moving with the current too much, so I'm not sure that's the problem. Besides, it's on a very large rock, so moving it would be difficult. Also, I had two different 'shrooms there earlier that seemed itchy, so I moved them, and they were even worse (they're better now - I think I just needed to leave them alone?) Anyhow, I'm new to this, and I'm after two things:

1) Information; I just like to know what's going on because it's facsinating!

2) Warnings; if there's a problem that needs to be fixed, I need to know what it is.

Thanks!

Specs:

5.5g AGA

24w 10K/24w actinic

0 ammonia

0 nitrite

< 5 nitrate

7.8 pH

9 *KH

500 calcium

0.06 iodine

0 (or whatever is lowest) phosphates

1.024 SG

76.4-77.8 *F

2x weekly water changes with Oceanic salt

green-shroom.jpg

No responses? That's OK. I reaquascaped the whole tank so that I could move that rock to a lower flow area. This guy immediately calmed down and expanded. He's much happier now :)

Depending on the species they will either extend out and move while leaving behind a small portion of itself which will develop into a mushroom. So species like ricordia will actually make another mouth and thats the sign that it is splitting. You will also notice the ends of the tentacles starting to branch.

Originally posted by DIYDude

You will also notice the ends of the tentacles starting to branch.