Top Shelf Aquatics

DIY Wavemaker with x10 and Linux

jburke30

Greetings All,

I've been mulling over the idea of having a wavemaker for my tank, but at current retail prices ($200+) it's simply out of my budget. However, since I'm a programmer and general Linux geek I thought I would try to come up with the least expensive way to have a wavemaker on my tank.

My solution: x10 and Linux. If you're not aware of it x10 is a protocol that allows you to send communication signals through your home's electrical wiring. It's mainly used to automate control of lights and appliances in your house.

When I started thinking about this project I was considering electronic switches controled by a mircrocontroler (such as a basic stamp module, or PIC controler), but when I really started to think about this I realized that the cost might get out of hand because of the additional electronic components need to really build this thing (my salvaged component drawer is still pretty thin =). Anyway, I had played around with x10 and computer controlled home automation about 2 years ago, and this popped back into my mind as a possibility. So, I looked into current pricing and I was amazed to see the price drop from two years ago.

Right now the starter x10 kit (The Firecracker kit) is only $40, and with the addition of two appliance modules the total cost will only be $65.00 (assuming you already have a home PC). The x10 company has software for Windows already, so that could be used if you're running windows, but since I use Linux at home I'll probably just automate the switch with Cron (the standard unix scheduler software). Though I think a program that looks like a wavemaker with LED display would be really cool (I'll probably work on this).

The only downside that I can think of is that your computer will have to be powered on all the time if you want it to run 24 hours a day (or at least during the times that the software will be running).