Coral Vue Hydros

Question about lighting... Be nice im a newbie

EclipseAgent

Right now I am looking for lighting for a current 29 gal. setup. I will be transfering this lighting over to a 75 gal in about a year.

How much wattage should I be using? Is too much light bad for the fish?

Right now I have a tank that has been setup for about 3.5 months. I have 25lbs of LR, 40Lbs LS a yellow tang (DONT WORRY I am giving him to the LFS soon), a procipine puffer and a little dottyback. I also have 2 conch snails, 4 algae snails, 4 hermit crabs.

RIght now I have the hood that came with the tank (the normal single light black hoods you know what I am talking about) I am still using the same bulb that came with it (that is some measly 20W light).

I was looking at this setup http://www.hellolights.com/4x55wretrofit.html

Would that be too much light in my 29 gal? Would it be just right for my 75 gal?

Or how about this one http://www.hellolights.com/2x55wretrofit.html

Would that second one be adiquite for my 75 gal?

What is the most important thing when it comes to lighting?

Oh man all this is so damn confusing sometimes. ???

ok fisrt of all if you want a reef get rid of the puffer. he doesnt mesh well. the 4x55 watt light is great for the 29 and would be minimal for the 75. its not a bad setup as you can add more to the 75 if you want. many people have up to 400watt halides over 20 gallon tanks so you dont reall yneed to worry about over lighting your tank with pcs....i dont think you can really hurt anything with that amount of light on that size tank.

Ok....a generic "rule of thumb" is 3-5 watts per gallon for a reef type tank. You will see many people with less and many with more. The key here is finding out what kind of corals and critters you want to keep and them buy lighting that is suitable for your critters and your wallet.