ReefCleaners.org

NEWBIE TO FORUM. HELp

tyh

hey guys.. i'm new to nano tanks...currently cycling a 10 gallon tank with LR only

under close inspection, i've noticed that on the LR, something that is brown in colour is growing all over it. kinda looks like mud....sandy mud. real sandy...some will momentarily float and attach itself to the LR

what the hell is it?? eyesore! part of the curing process??

also, i've noticed a tiny polyp emerging from one of the LR closest to surface( nearest to light source)...kinda cute when it opens up once i turn on the lights...haha

do snails eat thest polyps? i've got some snails too...and some polpys seem to disappear. or could it be taht the polpys just 'moved'?

Hmmm...don't know about the sandy stuff - can you post some pics? And the polyps - snails won't eat 'em, if they're truly polyps. They may be fanworms that expand & retract (thus looking like the disappear).

Ross

harbingerofthefish

like with Ross, the brown stuff by description sound like an algae, but the fact that it comes off the rock and then reataches itself seems a littl odd. I guess a picture really is worth a 1000 words.

on the "polyp"... Could be a fan worm of some type. Especially if it's coming from OUT of the rock. If it sticks out from a hole and has no visible base it's most likely some type of anenome. I have a little yellow one about 3/4" long that has 5 tentacles around it's center. If it only comes out when the lights are on, it's probally not a fan worm though. They are not photosynthetic so they don't care if it's day or night.