Coral Vue Hydros

How do you frag Kenya Trees & Xenia?

mike88camaro

Hey folks, can someone tell me how to go about fragging Kenya trees and Xenia.

Do I just cut one of the branches off the tree and attach it to the rock? How much should I be cutting off?

As for the Xenia, do I just cut off one of the hand thingie? How much of it should I cut?

I am a newb to this fraggin stuff. Please help.

jenniebutterfly

ok, i have heard (note never done) that you should cut where there is a branch, but cut it so that there are 2 branches coming off of a piece that is about 1/2" long. then insert that 1/2 inch long piece into a hole in a rock and use a rubberbandto hold it into place by putting it in between the two branches for about 2 weeks until it gets a hold on the rock and then cut off the band. i hope that made sense :)

Originally posted by jenniebutterfly

. . . i hope that made sense :)  . . .

I understood it, I just had to read a few times over. :D

how long should you wait, or how big should it get, before you friggin frag it?

Ok folks, thanks for all the replies. I had never done this before so I decided to try it. I did it on the kenya tree. I cut it as FIONE azz Jennie said to do. But instead of using a rubber band I use Super Glue to attach them to the rocks. Guess what happened when I woke up this morning... The frags were up and looked pretty happy to be moved away from their parents. If you are wondering what brand of superglue, it just say Super Glue on the tube. No name brand. I am going to frag more tonight and fill my tank up all over the place with new frags. Man it was a cool feeling to see my frags happy this morning.

I just recently cut my xenia, and 4 out of 5 pieces cut from one xenia stalk are doing amazing.

I just pulled the xenia rock out of the tank, snipped the stalk, making sure there was still a piece on the original rock, then put the original rock back in the tank.