Pod Your Reef

New to Coral Feeding

Angel Higuera

Angel Higuera

I've done several searches but found diffrent and somtimes contrary answers. I think I need some advice for my specific case. I'm new to coral and all I have now is a green brain and some GSP's. I feed the brain minced squid every 3 days. all I want in my tank is LPS, Softies and feather dusters. I bought some Micro-vert also.

Am I on the right track? What can I give the GSP's? - and all the other corals for that matter? I hear Cyclopeeze is good but not sure. Any advice on feeding is appreciated.

Thanks y'all

Angel

jenniebutterfly

liquid or good powdered phytoplankton, cyclopeeze or if you have a food processor try blending up some of that squid with some water and turkey basting them that, also maybe some frozen brine.

you don't actually NEED to feed your corals(the ones you have are photosynthetic). the 'brain' can and will accept meaty foods(i personally use a mix of enriched brine, mysis, and cyclopeeze to feed my acanathastrea, blastos, and other lps). personally with the gsp...i wouldnt feed the bastards anything. they're gonna overtake your tank in a year or so(mind you, this is without feeding them directly) and you're gonna regret buying them.

i'm pretty sure that powdered phyto and most bottled phyto is just a waste of money. the only phyto worth paying for is one that has an expiration date and DEMANDS refrigeration. something like DT's is perfectly good stuff. anywho, hth.

jenniebutterfly

yoshiod, my powdered phyto has an exparation date and needs to be refrigerated thats why i said GOOD powdered phyto.

jennie- no kiddin?! what brand is it? i've never heard of a powdered phyto that needs refrig.! how do you get it into solution? i've heard the best way to get an even mix is to use a blender....but i'm not too sure how my gf would react to that one. lol.