Coral Vue Hydros

Breeding live rock?

badpacket

Hi All,

I'm rather new to saltwater, and currently have a 29g s/w with 5" DSB, ~30# l/r, shrimp, fake clowns, bubbletip, and various shrooms and moon polyps.

I recently acquired an Eclipse 6 for about $10, and would like to set this up in my office as a small reef tank. I know Eclipses are not the best for such, due to its small size, and poor lighting.

I mainly would like to have:

a clown

small bubbletip

peppermint shrimp

Some Polyps ( would need to retro the lighting somehow, I know)

I have about 10# of live rock that I just took out of my 29g. Unfortunately, I had to dump it in a 5g bucket and it had no power head for a couple of days.

Would there be any bio left on it?

Tomorrow, I am planning on setting up the new tank, adding 20# of bagged Argonite sand ( Core-Life), the rock and fresh s/w.

No livestock.

I am also going to seed the sand with either some of mine, or some from a very good LFS I know of.

I expect to take an Amm reading after setting it up, which should be low, although I did throw some Amm into the bucket previously, and it is now reading off the scale > 8 ppm with Aquarium Pharm. test kit.

Any thoughts on whether or not I will have to re-cycle? If so, I have some other small rocks I could temporarily take from my 29g as temp seeders.

But, my main question is, has anyone ever tried to force a L/R-DSB to increase its bio load capacity?

I was wondering if using straight Amm I could cause it to grow 'stronger' so that it could accept a large bio-load?

Or, will the NitrI/NitrA bacteria colonize all available surfaces to a certain density, regardless of amount of free Amm/food available?

Am I overstocking this 6 with the above livestock levels?

If so, what if I lost the clown, and simply got a pair of anenome crabs?

thanks