inTank Media Baskets

grr, Ebo Jager not working!

Jandree22

alright, based on the recomendations of this site, I got myself a 50W EboJager Heater for my 10gal I'm just beginning to set up... Last night I set the dial on 78° and I check out my tank this morning... it's 82°! I do the lil reset thing the instructions suggest(turning it back 3-4°, THEN adjust it to where you want it). I then adjusted it to 77°, just got back from class, it's 80° and still cookin! I adjusted it once more now to 76° and it's still turned off, but I bet it'll switch on at 76° and get stuck on, again:( Am I doing something wrong or should I return it for another one??? thanks!

I have the same heater and it has been working great until I added more light and left them on for six hours. It also got up to 82. I don't have any fish in my five gallon, just live rock and hitchhikers with some brown musrooms I bought today. Watch your lighting. I run my tanks open top and I think the extra 13 watts made a difference because it worked fine for eight dys.

right now I have no lighting on the tank. i'm just in the process of stabalizing(or trying to at least) the temperature and salinity. our room is on the cool side as well so it can't be from that:(

printerdown01

If you do return it pick up a 75+ watt... 50 is a little small for a 10 gallon if you ask me. I would actually suggest a 100W. Tanks with smaller water volumes are more likely to have temperature swings, as there is less volume to retain heat (this is also true in reverse, which is why so many people are putting chillers on there nanos). Is the room hot, by chance? If you decide to ditch the Ebo, you could use a Tronic -they are both supposed to be extreamly reliable (you may have just gotten a bad apple!). I have strictly used Tronics for years, since I have never had any problems with them... just my 2 cents, for what it's worth (actually my info probably isn't even worth 2 cents :P ...) -oh well...