Top Shelf Aquatics

First Post

Newby-Reefer

Hello Everybody,

My name is Ryan and I am new to the hobby. I would first like to say that this looks like a great site. I was on AquariaCanada and someone showed me a link to this site. I am interested in a nano reef. 20 Gallons so big for a Nano but small compared to other tanks. Like I said I would like to start a 20 gallon. Here are the pecs would you help me where i am wrong or might chage something.

20 gallon tank

2 inch sand bed

20-30 lbs Fiji, tonga Branch Live Rock Mix

2 55 watt PC light kit

3 powerheads (100 gph each)

prism skimmer

no refugium

150 watt won brothers heater with digital display

Anything i am missing?

6 of each hermits: halloween, red scarlet and blue

15 margarita snails

10 nassarius snails

5 cerith snails

1 cleaner shrimp

1 Red Banded Pistol Shrimp

2 Percula Clownfish

2 Highfin Red Banded Goby (Stonogobiops nematodes)

Ricordea Mushrooms

Blue Msuhrooms,

Red Mushrooms

Fuzzy Mushrooms

Green Star Polyps

Hammer Coral

I am sure I will add more corals but how does it look. 4 Small fish is not over crowding the tank is it?

I would get stronger PH's...and a different skimmer if you havent already bought a prism. I would also think about adding a refug to the tank.. also maybe 130watt pc's instead of 2x55... or MH lighting..

This of course is just a opinion :)

I have a 175 watt halide her at my house i can use. That kind of skimmer do you suggest? Also what how will the fuge benifit i have no pod feeders? How strong do you suggest for the powerheads.?

Hey Newby. For a skimmer I would recomend an Aqua C Remora. I heard that the Prizm can be a bit of a PITA. I heard that they are noisy. The rest of the set up sounds really good. It depends on the type of corals you will keep. The 175W MH is a good light, but if you plan to keep softies only then I will recomend the 130W of PC's. You are not planing to place a HOB filter?