Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

my 8gallon clear-for-life tank...

timb000

stop by jeff's exotic fish today and picked up one of jeff's 8 gallon clear-for-life acrylic tank with stand and canopy. It was one of jeff's display tanks that he had in the store and was nice of him to sell it to me(thanks again jeff). If anybody is in the area I recommend you stop by Jeff's exotic fish and take a look around (great customer service, selection and price).

Here are some pics of my tank.

I will be updating this thread as I go. Sorry for the bad pictures as this is my first attempt at using a digital camera:D

day1

put in 20 pounds of aragonite live sand.

10347sand_in_tank-med.JPG

added about 5 pound of live rock(will be adding more later).

10347setup1-med.JPG

here's a couple shots of the tank with the stand and canopy. Water and salt was mixing so no water in the tank for now.

10347closershot-med.JPG

10347standandcanopy-med.JPG

Thats all for now. Thanks for looking everyone.

-timb000

I was orginally going to put only 10 pounds of sand from one of jeff's bins. But jeff let me buy one of his 20 pound bag of sand for the same price so I took it. Yeah I know its alot of sand but I just didnt want to throw the rest away so I just put it all in there. Its about 3 inches right now. Why is it bad to have too much sand? If it is I'll just take some out later.

with too much sand the botom becomes dead and dosent help you at all i would get a fyge and put some in it, or set up a diff tank or sell some you have many options so choose what you want but i wouldent leave it taht deep

timb000 that tank is awsome. I see it every time I go to jeff's! BTW I love jeff's exotic fish, great store and great prices. Can I ask how much?

Phergus: DSB isn't necessarly a bad thing, there was a huge article writen on RC about its benifits. I wish I could find it but its kinda old. The depth of that sand bed isn't really that deep either. Looks to be about 2" at most