Top Shelf Aquatics

Percula clown acting funny, newbie here

DieselTanker

I have a 12g nano that has finished cycling and last night I added a cleaner shrimp and a percula clown. The shrimp has been exploring his new home just fine, the clown is another matter. He swam around a little when first added but since last night he has hovered near the bottom swimming in cicles sometimes but mostly just hovering. His mouth is moving kindof fast but I don't think he is gulping for air, I read up on possible problems and I've seen some people having problems with lack of O2 in the nano cubes so since it was too late to buy an air stone, I lowered the water level a bit so the outlet would break the surface and make some bubbles. He perked up a bit when I did that, but he is still in pretty much the same spot hovering. He seems to have a couple tiny white spots too. not sure if it is ick or a parasite though. I'm a bit worried since this is my first attempt at a reef. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Did you acclimate the clown before putting him in the tank or did you just put him in right away? Improper acclimation can stress fish and other marine creatures.

He may have ich which does attack the gills causing breathing problems. Do a search and look at the pics to help you with the diagnosis. If the white spots look like grains of salt, disappear in a few days and then reappear with friends he probably has ich. The best treatments for ich are hyposalinity and copper based medications like Cupramine. Both treatments MUST be done in a hospital tank or they will kill the shrimp and ruin the live rock.