Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

My 4mth old nano cube

CindyC

I have read lots of posts and seen lots of member's tanks and have ooohd and aaaghd at all of them.

I am new to this hobby..horses and farm animals first..never thought I would get into "fish"!! Anyway here is my first attempt and I am mighty proud of my 12 gal jbj. By the way, the only thing I have upgraded to this tank is the lights, I have purchased a 56 watt 50/50 retro kit which fits under my hood. Thanks to all of you who have helped with all your posts.

Picture018.jpg[/img]

Thanks for all your praises. My water temp stays at 79-80 degrees. I will eventually get the fans installed.

The lights I got from Aquadirect. I had to do a little trimming of the reflector.

I have had the star from the beginning as well as the 2 damsels. I just got rid of my emerald crab..he was moving everything and twice a day I had to re-decorate the tank..got sick of it, so out he went. Star seems to be doing ok, I think he has enough algae to eat.

I do have a problem with the red slime. I have used the "red slime" stuff and even did a water change 3 days ago and this stuff still comes back with a vengence. If someone knows of a permanent cure..I would be appreciative. I have only done 3 water changes since I got the aquarium up...was given the lecture of water changes by someone this weekend at our fish club...I have converted!!

Meercat_Maric

I solved my red slime problem in my 75g by simply pulling out the sand that it was on and cleaning the slime off in fresh water. Then I replaced the sand, mixing it back into the substrate. I found this helped greatly, also I have a large sand sifting star in there, "he" keeps everything nicely turned so nothign has time to take root and settle.

for red slime problems check out this stuff, i have not used it but read good results

Ultralife Red Slime Remover

http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_additi...ife.asp?CartId=