Cultivated Reef

Some kindia coral???

jg013c

So I just set up my nano cube 1 week ago and yesterday I brought home a big purple live rock bolder!!! So much interesting life came on the rock, like a couple of small stars and a bristle worm (uh oh...) :*(

There is a green/brown splotch (not the technical term) on the side of the rock, and on the splotch are some small polypie heads.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THIS COULD BE???

Is it some kinda coral? :happy:

Dr. Saltwater

Could you take a pic form a little farther away? I've got something in my mind but I don't like to guess. It's clearly a coral if you look at the outstanding polyps ....

im still a rookie but maybe some kinda portie? if your tank has only been up a week it may not make it through the cycle but i had a group of about 10 zoo's make it (10ppm+ ammo spike etc) so if youre not cycled best of luck :).

Well I put the rock in one week after I started the tank. I started the tank with lots of LR & LS and a cotton ball bacteria culture from the LFS's tank. All the params are in excellent shape so hopefully some of the coral will pull through... The polips do close at night and open during the day, this is true regardless of the state of the lights.

The rock it came with has tons of criters, chitons, amphipods big & small, tiny feather dusters & other tube worms, small stars.. And after the lights go off, out come snails, sea hares and, unfortunately BRISTLE WORMS! And lots of them, I think I have seen about 7, so I imagine there are plenty more. They are small and very very skinny (perhaps because I have no fish food/fish waste for them to eat).

I tried plucking them out with treasers but its very hard!

Any sugestions

bristle worms will come out if you feed the tank, but why take them out. generally, they're good for the tank. although it still may be a porite, i haven't seen one with so few polyps. there's a whole range of encrusting corals that is can still be.