Pod Your Reef

Power loss recovery scenario

PDX Reefer

PDX Reefer

Hello,

I recently lost power for 4 days, and my tank crashed, as the water movement stopped, and the temp got down to 42 degrees. I am relatively new to the hobby, and my tank admittedly had some minor algae issues due to lack of water changes, filter sock cleaning, etc, but fish, lps, and sps corals have always been healthy, as my water chemistry has always been acceptable. The tank is a 25 gallon, and initial tests showed around 2ppm ammonia, with nitrate at an acceptable level. 

I cleared all of the dead livestock and corals, but I wasn’t able to find one fish. I did a 25% water change, and the plan is to bring ammonia down through large changes over the next few days. I also vacuumed the sand bed, and will get a CUC in there soon. I have been reading some threads about rip cleaning, cleaning/replacing sand beds, etc. I have also seen where people cook their rock in a dark container to get rid of the algae.

My question is this : if I run the tank without lights for a week or so to lessen the algae on the rocks, and get the water chemistry in line, should I be ok to start restocking with fish and corals? In a perfect world, I would thoroughly rip clean, etc, but I just don’t feel like I realistically have the time for that with work and two small kids, etc. 

Thanks for any insight you can give

you may need to black out the tank with black brute trashbags.  

I do not think just running the tank with lights off will do much.

Then you will get the algae which is dying decaying in your tank adding to ammonia.  

If  your tank is that bad, i would just restart it since you have nothing in there, and speed cycle

You can just take a cleaning brush to your live rock and try to brush off as much algae as possible, and still use it as a seed.