Top Shelf Aquatics

Can you use dechlorinated tap water in a saltwater aquarium?

FirePanda

I’m new to saltwater, but I do have a dad who has kept a saltwater aquarium, and he says you have to do water changes a lot on a saltwater aquarium: how many for a 40 gallon breeder, and can dechlorinated tap water be used for them? My water is very hard, about 220 ppm. Not sure if that matters much for saltwater. Also, I want a reef: does it matter for a reef tank?

I have run saltwater tanks on dechlorinated tapwater, it can be done.  They were fish only tanks years ago.  But rodi systems are not that expensive anymore, if you want to run a reef system, you'll have better results with rodi.  Truthfully the least expensive part of a reef tank is the water, your going to spend alot more on fish/corals nowadays.

• Agree 1

And for water changes, ballpark is 10% weekly, but there are options and with dosing, ato, where some people do almost no water changes, but your gonna want to start with water changes.

Alright, ten percent a week is fine. I was worried it was like keeping discus and you had to do crazy water changes every day to keep them alive. If rodi’s not expensive, though, I’ll get a system. 

• Like 1
4 hours ago, FirePanda said:

I’m new to saltwater, but I do have a dad who has kept a saltwater aquarium, and he says you have to do water changes a lot on a saltwater aquarium: how many for a 40 gallon breeder, and can dechlorinated tap water be used for them? My water is very hard, about 220 ppm. Not sure if that matters much for saltwater. Also, I want a reef: does it matter for a reef tank?

The only difference that would mean more water changes is the higher pH of saltwater.  At that level, ammonia is much more toxic.  So if you're starting a new tank by causing an ammonia spike, it's going to be more toxic than doing the same thing in a low-pH freshwater tank.