inTank Media Baskets

A confusion concerning Dinos and Cyanos

P. mandevillei

P. mandevillei

I’m rather new to the field, and after reading quite a few articles on the cause of algae outbreak, I have some problems about the difference of preferred water conditions of dinoflagellates and Cyanobacteria.

Cyano is known to thrive in water rich in organics. And while most articles mention that Dino breaks out due to deficiencies of no3 and po4, from a converse perspective it also suggests a relatively high level of organic matters (thus the imbalance).

So what is the difference in the preferred water parameters of the two kinds?

Here’s my hypothesis:

Common cyanos and dinos in our tanks are able to both build organics by photosynthesis and directly capitalize on dissolved organic matters. Cyanos are prokaryotic bacteria, as with the name, while Dinos are eukaryotic protists, which have chloroplasts that the former don’t, thus better able to preform photosynthesis.

Could it be possible that dinos thrive with a level of organics that’s higher than normal but lower than that preferred by Cyanos, because they can compensate the lack of organics by photosynthesis better? And their ability to directly use organics gives them an edge over other photosynthetic algae in organic rich waters?

Does any of what I wrote sound plausible to you?

• Like 1

Check out the first post here https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/dinoflagellates-–-are-you-tired-of-battling-altogether.293318/ and be sure to check out the references I linked.

In tanks that have been "nuked" it is actually common for dino's and cyano to co-bloom together.....and in that state, pretty much nothing else will grow.  Gives you an idea of what cyano are capable of though.

Thankfully there aren't THAT many examples of tanks that were "nuked" to that degree...but the examples are in that thread if you want to see how they went.