Coral Vue Hydros

Hello!

Goodwood

Hello, 

I am new to reefing, but not new to keeping aquariums. I have a Waterbox Frag 165 planted tank that is my main focus. Started seeing reef jars and hearing of quite a few folks having great success with little equipment and investment, so I thought I would give it a shot with a little pico setup. 

Set up a 3.7 gallon pico reef a few months ago and I am thoroughly enjoying myself and I also preparing a AIO 15 cube. Here is a couple snaps of my pico Reef and may planted tank. Looking forward to share more!

20230204_151526.jpg

IMG_20221113_154104_064.jpg

• Like 4
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
On 2/28/2023 at 8:20 PM, Goodwood said:

20230204_151526.jpg

I actually thought I replied to this already.  LOL

If you notice, you are spilling a lot of light outside the tank.    Waste of money and not great for your eyes AND makes the room look like an opium den. 😉

And it's an easy fix.

In general those lights have generic 90º lenses.  Thanks to triangle math, that means mounting height should be the same as your desired coverage radius....which would be about half the front-to-back width of the tank, minus any filter space.  (You don't want to light the filter space.)

What are the actual dimensions on that tank?

Tiny tanks can be fun, and sometimes there's no other option.  But tiny tanks also have some pretty obvious limits.  Even though overall costs are "lower" to start a tiny tank, I think the bang-for-your-buck on them is low due to the natural limits.  Almost no fish are compatible with a tank that size, for example.....anything you selected would be pushing the limit....which is not ideal for fish.

I think you'll be in a 3' tank or larger before you know it. 😉 At 5' or 6' you can keep almost all commonly available fish.  

4 hours ago, mcarroll said:

I actually thought I replied to this already.  LOL