Cultivated Reef

15 Gallon Reef Corals Happy, Fish Suddenly Struggling

Adla

Hi everyone,

I've been running this nano for 10 months and with the low bioload I was reading near undetectable nitrates and phosphates - corals tended to struggle and die off. Around the 8 month mark, coralline algae started to thrive and so did corals. SPS have great color, full extension.

At this point nutrients crept up to the 20-25 range. Corals were generally still very happy and fish were thriving, but I decided to reduce feeding and install the Aquamax media reactor with only chaeto, LED strips on roughly 12 hours/day. While installing the reactor, I broke my lily pipe surface skimmer that normally breaks up the surface tension. I've ordered a replacement that's scheduled to arrive today but the tank's been running with the standard eheim intake for about a week now.

Three days ago, I notice my two clowns are gasping, listlessly floating on the tank bottom and more recently always right at the surface. My Royal Gramma who normally hides out in a cave but comes out now and then to eat is nowhere to be seen. None of the fish touch food and they were all aggressive eaters just a week ago. The cleaner shrimp appears to be in perfect health and corals show zero signs of discomfort. My three Astraea snails have suddenly died off, although two others had died over the past few months. 

Surface tension appears to be mixed by the MP10, crystal clear water, very little if any film on the surface. I've reduced the LED light period to about 8 hours reverse with the display light now that Nitrates are around 5ppm.

Fish gasping tells me its a low oxygen level (high Co2 level?)- possibly bacteria or the chaeto being too efficient? The tank has a wide footprint so I never thought gas exchange was an issue. I'm hoping that I can replace the Lily pipe asap and see if there is a difference. 

I'm at a loss, hate to see these guys suffering.

Pics and tanks specs below.