SaltCritters.com

Fish recommendations for a Fluval Evo 13.5

lostrider

Hi everyone.

Just getting back into the fish hobby, although this is my first time with saltwater. I purchased a Fluval Evo (13.5 gallon nano tank) and bought some of the talked-about upgrades (inTank Media Basket, etc.). My goal is to primarily keep corals, but I also want to keep some fish as well. Also will be doing an open top with net and will be upgrading the stock lighting to something better.

I want to be a responsible owner--I don't want to overcrowd the aquarium, nor do I want to keep juvenile fish only to have to give them away/trade them once they get bigger (I get quite sentimental with my pets). I had a 70 gallon African Cichlid tank in the past, which required me to overstock the aquarium to ease their aggression--although the giant water changes became quite exhausting. So want to avoid excess waste and also want to house animals that are ok being in a small space.

I know one recommendation is a yellow watchman goby/shrimp pair. If anyone could steer me in the right direction, I would be most appreciative. I can imagine this question comes up a lot, so apologize for the redundancy, but just excited to start my new hobby. 🙂

• Like 1

Welcome to the salt side! 

There’s a decent variety of fish that work well tanks that size.

There are a lot of other shrimp gobies in addition to the yellow watchman, so take time to explore there. One of my favorites out of that group is the barber pole goby (Stonogobiops nematodes). They are jumpers though, so that net lid will be a necessity. 

Firefish or dart gobies are another fun group. Depending on your budget, you could go with a red firefish, purple firefish, or Helfrichi firefish. My red firefish was my first ever saltwater fish, and still probably my favorite to date.

Neon or shark nose gobies are small, but they still have a funny personality. Their antics around feeding time are pretty entertaining.