Innovative Marine Aquariums

First time poster

LinuxJunkie

Hi All:

After seeing many beautiful nano reefs from members of this BB and from the local lfs i decided to set up a 6g nano. I do have 5+ years in reef keeping i currently have a 55g reef, But i feel like a complete newbie with the nano:) I would like to know of what success you have had with your nano's.

My current set-up consist's of the following:

6g eclipse

stock filtration(i do however choose not to use the bio wheel) i have added some cc and live sand where the bio wheel resides.

7-8 pounds cured lr

2 1/2 inch sand bed

8w 50/50 bulb

1 powerhead

no heater

One more question i have is this, I plan to use CSL retrofit kit, Will this be more than sufficient lighting for some acro's and frogspawn, if they are placed higher in the water column?

Jeff

that's an interesting idea putting the cc and sand in the eclipse filtration area. i'm assuming you're talking about the filter cartridge area and using it like a little refugium. you may have to baffle it to curb the flow rate imo. you could also put in one of those new LED lights and have an algae scrubber going up there.

are you talking about the SeaBrights from CSL? (27w & 13W) they're pretty good. i used that retro on my last nano (also an Eclipse 6) and it worked ok. the frog is ok but i'd question the acros. if you're raising acros in your big setup already you probably know enough to do it though. i'm a weed reefer rather than an ac-rose reefer. :P

i'd go 2x32w though. later on you'll want to upgrade anyway. that's part of the reason i finally switched nanos myself. welcome to the shallow end of the pool!