Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Pico shrimp tank

Hi,

I know the basics of freshwater fish keeping, but am considering a Pico saltwater tank because I'm passionate about reefs, and I'm eager to learn about coral and marine life. I would very much appreciate someone to give me an overall view of what keeping a saltwater tank entails as I'm not sure I can handle something that is too expensive (over a few hundred dollars :bling:). I'm thinking of having 1 Green Star Polyp frag and 4 Anemone shrimp in a 5 gallon tank. I'm very new to the saltwater tank keeping hobby, so all tips and info will be greatly appreciated! Especially info about Anemone shrimp because I am having trouble learning about what care they require. I also have a few random questions in specific that I'd like answered. 

• What is "live rock" and what does it do in the aquarium?
  • What is "live sand" is this just sand with beneficial bacteria in it already?
  • Is keeping shrimp harder than keeping fish?
  • Are Green Star Polyp hard to keep, and do they sting?
  • Does Green Star Polyp glow at night?
  • Are Green Star Polyps hardy to water parameter or temperature fluctuations?
  • And finally, what can I feed Green Star Polyp and Anemone shrimp?

Sorry for all these questions!

-Thanks

Amnemonemomne
On 7/10/2022 at 11:46 PM, Sea Student said:
  • What is "live rock" and what does it do in the aquarium?
  • What is "live sand" is this just sand with beneficial bacteria in it already?
  • Is keeping shrimp harder than keeping fish?
  • Are Green Star Polyp hard to keep, and do they sting?
  • Does Green Star Polyp glow at night?
  • Are Green Star Polyps hardy to water parameter or temperature fluctuations?
  • And finally, what can I feed Green Star Polyp and Anemone shrimp?

1. so live rock is where bacteria and other stuff live inside the rock, the rock then acts as a biological filter for your tank (still buy all the filters and stuff)'