Cultivated Reef

Zoanthids have algae on them?

Cubeguy11

Hello, this is my first time getting corals and after waiting for a few hours for my corals to open up again I noticed that the zoa I got had some algae growing on it. Should I do something or should I wait for it to go away?4BB51C10-80D3-4489-9656-5496B766A261.thumb.jpeg.bb7e6dcf54fd5b21a235ec41592b72f2.jpeg

I can't see any in the picture.  Is it on the plug or the zoas themselves?  Usually if it's on the coral, it irritates them so they don't open ime.  If it's on the plug, you could use a soft toothbrush to see if you can dislodge it, maybe?  If it's the blue or the little red patches on the plug, see if a soft brush will get rid of it, otherwise assume it's coraline, maybe?

26 minutes ago, Cubeguy11 said:

Hello, this is my first time getting corals and after waiting for a few hours for my corals to open up again I noticed that the zoa I got had some algae growing on it. Should I do something or should I wait for it to go away?4BB51C10-80D3-4489-9656-5496B766A261.thumb.jpeg.bb7e6dcf54fd5b21a235ec41592b72f2.jpeg

That is the color morph of the zoanthid. 

• Agree 1

BTW, it's used interchangeable but those are actually palythoa. Small grandis. They should grow larger and larger to about the diameter of a golf ball. 

2 hours ago, patback said:

That is the color morph of the zoanthid. 

Ok good to know, does that means that it’s changing colors or will it stay like that.

1 hour ago, Cubeguy11 said:

Ok good to know, does that means that it’s changing colors or will it stay like that.

According to how they like your tank I've seen them get more or less brown, but  that is for the most part just what they look like. Nice pieces. 

30 minutes ago, patback said:

According to how they like your tank I've seen them get more or less brown, but  that is for the most part just what they look like. Nice pieces. 

Ok! Thanks, I was just a little worried about them but it’s good to know.