inTank Media Baskets

Draco's Dwarf Seahorses

Draco

I've been studying on and off on Dwarf Ponies since 2015 (at least according to my thread on this site when I began my research), I decided to finally bite the bullet many years later. Back in November 2021 I got 6 dwarf ponies. I thought I'd document everything here with my experiences and thoughts. And these guys are not easy! They require daily maintenance, but they are worth it in the end.

NOTE: These are my own rambling thoughts and experiences. This is not a care guide. Just simply my own thing 🙂

Feeding: Daily feeding and BBS hatching which was a chore in itself trying to figure out what method worked best for me, I found BBS Hatchery Dishes like this worked best (though it doesn't produce a whole lot of BBS). Eggs hatch in about 12 hours and continuously hatches for about 2-3 days. I have two dishes going that I alternate through to keep a steady supply of BBS. I struggled with the DIY soda bottles, tried several different ways and just failed with bottles.  I've learned that I MUST rinse off BBS before feeding, I believe some ponies perished from bacterial infections from the food if I didn't rinse it in cold fresh water. Always make sure egg shells does not get into the tank, they can cause hydroids.

Water Quality: Dwarf ponies are messy. Their poops are nearly big as them amazingly. It isn't just the ponies themselves, but the BBS causing poor water quality. Cleaning water out often is key. However, I struggled horribly with red slime algae and dinos for a long time. Weeks of trying to fix the water params and 50% water changes only made it worse. More ponies perished which I believe it's in part to the algae taking oxygen away from them. I finally did a 100% scrub out of the tank recently. A week as of today and no algae and I hope to keep it that way.