Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Aquascape Advice for New IM Peninsula 14 Nano Reef

AWiseOne

Hi all, I am new to reef aquariums and after months of research am finally setting up an IM Nuvo Pro Peninsula 14. My plan is to eventually have a pair of clownfish, some soft corals, and some of the easier to take care of LPS corals. Not all at once, of course!

I'm to the aquascaping part and was hoping to get some feedback on my "creation". I used a little over 9.5lbs of Marcorock and plan on using Caribsea Special grade sand for the bottom. Does what I have look reasonable for it's intended use? Any suggestions to improve it? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

IMG_8749.jpg

IMG_8748.jpg

IMG_8747.jpg

IMG_8743.jpg

AllAboutDatWrasse

I think it looks nice, and I see lots of places to put corals. 

I would consider chipping down the rocks that are closest to the glass, so it’ll be easier to get your hand in there to clean the glass. 

4 hours ago, AllAboutDatWrasse said:

I think it looks nice, and I see lots of places to put corals. 

I would consider chipping down the rocks that are closest to the glass, so it’ll be easier to get your hand in there to clean the glass. 

Yeah I found that when I made the mistake of having my rocks to close to the glass algae just built up really thick and then when I broke down the tank it a was a pain to get off even with a razor scraper 

Thanks for the feedback. I think I'll go ahead and chip the corners of the rocks getting close to the glass. Is there a recommended gap? Right now I have about 1" gap between the glass and the rock at the closest points around the edge. Should I have a larger gap than that?