ReefCleaners.org

Clean up crew for a 13.5 gallon tank

Aseifert

I am new to salt water aquariums. I recently got a 13 gallon tank and plan to start with some clown fish. I was wondering if I have enough room for a clean up crew and what to get if I do? I was thinking about a cleaner shrimp. Also any tips y’all have would be greatly appreciated! I’m about to start the cycling process, I just want to be prepared for when the tank is ready for fish! 

Yes, you definitely have room for a clean up crew and your life would be significantly harder without one. I personally like a mixed clean up crew with some nassarius snails for cleaning up dead stuff, turbo and margarita or trochus snails for dealing with algae, ceriths for getting into small areas, and dwarf hermits for everything.

A cleaner shrimp is just an ornamental shrimp and you'll be feeding it like you would a fish - they aren't going to be making your life easier and aren't part of your CUC. They can also be a pain in the ass, but if you like them you live with it!

If you started with live rock, you can start with a full CUC and will likely get bonus clean up crew you can't buy in a store like stomatellas, limpets, etc. If you started with dry rock, I'd add them slowly over that next 6 months since you don't have a lot of micro life to support them.

For my 20g, I went with 2 nassarius, 2 turbo, 4 small margarita, 6-8 ceriths, and 2-3 dwarf hermits and kept it roughly the same level for 10 years without too many changes. Many people go a bit larger, a few go a little smaller.

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Kindanewtothis said:

Just out of curiosity, why?

Because just like crabs, shrimp are opportunists. Only they are bigger than than the crabs we keep and way faster. Many are also quite a bit faster than the nano sized fishes we keep (at least over nano tank sized distances in short bursts) and can be extremely aggressive when going for food.