SaltCritters.com

Clown died... ICH.. Prevention?

SeanTay00

Hey guys just lost a two week battle against ICH last night and i've been pretty disappointed all day. Being a newbie, i'm concerned about prevention of ICH. My tank looks real lonely with no fish in it, and I would like to get something in there again but I don't want it to meet the same fate. I've been told that ICH can last up to 30days with no host! Do I really need to leave my tank empty that long? Where did this ICH most likely come from? Bought the clown from PetCo, should I shop else where for fish? I've considered picking up a cheap damsel as a "guinne pig", and I'm also investing in a hospital tank. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tank Info: 20G, 15-20lbs LR, 20lbs live sand, all levels perfect, zoo's/shrooms/xenia/GSP all healthy

How long did you have the fish?

Definately, do not get your fish at Petco. You have about a 25% chance of a fish from there staying healthy. They may be cheaper but you and the fish end up suffering the consequences.

If you get a damsel be choosy about which type you get. Some of them can be extremely difficult to get back out and in a smaller tank environment they can be extremely aggressive towards other fish.

Had the fish for about 3 weeks. The second week showed slight signs of ICH, did a big water change and the ich "disappeared'. It reappeared this week and I tried to feed the fish garlic to build his immune but it was to late. Didn't get a chance to FW dip.

What kind of damsel would you recommend? I really just want something cheap to look at. "I hate guests coming over and saying, nice tank, why aren't there any fish in there?"

That's too bad PetCo has poor quality fish. It worries me though to spend and additional 10-15$ more on a clown from my other LFS if it my suffer the same fate because of my tank,