Coral Vue Hydros

IM Nuvo 10 stocking - I’m new to reefing

Nova Scotian

My little tank is pretty much cycled. I’m still going to wait a bit to make sure. I still don’t know what I want to put in it, fish wise. I was thinking of a yellow clown goby and a shrimp goby of some variety, and I know that this tank will provide plenty of room for them. Before I commit I am wondering what your thoughts are on adding a clownfish or royal gramma instead of the YCB. In theory I think the larger fish won’t have enough swimming space. But I know many people do this, so there is probably a good reason for it. Any thoughts appreciated.

Melissa

Hi welcome to NR and reefing. I think you could keep 2 fish in this tank. I would add the shrimp goby first and let it get comfortable in the new tank before adding the second fish. As always you never know how they will get along so add the more aggressive fish last. Make sure you use the lid because all fish can jump right out of the tank is scared.

• Like 1
growsomething

Clownfish do well in small tanks in relation to their size because of their habit in nature of defending one small area they use as a host.

My nuvo 10 has a clown and a tsb.  It is plenty of room for them both. Good luck.

• Like 2

Welcome NS

Just my 2 cents... many other options other than clown fish.. possum wrasse will do well in a 10 gallon , shrimp gobies and pistol shrimp come in many different colors.One of my favorites is the barnacle blenny. Most fish are jumpers so a mesh lid is important. I hauled my possum wrasse out of my back compartment often, one day he was not so lucky.

• Like 1
filefishfinatic

i feel like 10 gallons is kinda small for clowns and royal gramma. ive seeen a RG the size of my hand. clowns get agressive too. honestly what id do is a pair of stoplight cardinals, a jester goby, and a shrimp goby or blenny