inTank Media Baskets

Proper way to release new coral into tank

magma

I've read somewhere that once you get the new coral, you acclimate it in the bag. After the acclimation, submerge the whole bag under water and push the coral out of the bag. Then tie up the bag under water.

Is this the proper way? Is there no way to prevent letting the lfs water into my tank?

How do you guys get your new coral into your tanks?

Thanks

i'm really new to this, but mine do fine just acclimating them in the bag a little and then just scoopin them out the bag and into the tank. i dont think you really have to submerge the whole bag and stuff

Blind Tree Frog

According to the guy at the LFS, he just tosses them in, but he admits that this isn't the best way.

What i did last night and seemed to work was put the bag in the tank and let the water temperatures match and then poke a small hole in the side of the bag (like pin prick small) so the water can slowly mix. About an hour later i figure the water has mixed well enough so I take it out of the bag and place it.

Someone will jump on me for that though because many don't like the idea of mixing LFS water with their tank water. This is a good point because who knows what has been floating around their tanks. But i don't really have the means for a proper acclimation.

The "correct" way I'd say would be do like Iceberg or Neon. Keep them seperated and slowly add water. After an hour or two pull the coral out and place it and dump the acclimation water.

acclimate to temp (float bag). open bag. slowly add water over an extended period of time. (some ppl recommend doubling the volume at least twice.) more time if sg is not the same. remove water from bag if necessary to add more water. take coral out of water and place in tank. do not mix unknown lfs sw into tank.