Innovative Marine Aquariums

Help Deciding on Tanks

MatthewN

Trying to decide between the following Aquariums. I'm new at this, so open to other options. I'm looking for less that 40 gallons, with a sump, with a protein skimmer. Primarily, I'm looking for something as simple as possible to maintain. I will need to slowly work my way up to a reef. Maybe start with a couple of clownfish.

These are the ones that seem like the best fit:

• Red Sea Reefer 170 - comes with the sump but no pump and no light
  • Red Sea Reefer Max E170 - comes with light and protein skimmer but no sump
  • Reef Octopus OCTO LUX T60 - comes with sump and protein skimmer but no light

Appreciate any help. Thank you.

Well, if you want to start with a fish-only system and then work your way up to a reef, you could buy a cheaper LED light to start, and then upgrade before you get into corals.

Hard to advise you without knowing your budget though.

• Like 1
3 hours ago, MatthewN said:

Trying to decide between the following Aquariums. I'm new at this, so open to other options. I'm looking for less that 40 gallons, with a sump, with a protein skimmer. Primarily, I'm looking for something as simple as possible to maintain. I will need to slowly work my way up to a reef. Maybe start with a couple of clownfish.

These are the ones that seem like the best fit:

• Red Sea Reefer 170 - comes with the sump but no pump and no light
  • Red Sea Reefer Max E170 - comes with light and protein skimmer but no sump
  • Reef Octopus OCTO LUX T60 - comes with sump and protein skimmer but no light

Appreciate any help. Thank you.