Cultivated Reef

(Answered) Tubeworm Paradise Advice?

WormLicker

EDIT: Thank you for the feedback! I now have a better working idea on annelid care/environments.

Howdy all, thank you in advance for advice. 

I've started my first reef tank (30G flex box set) and I'm presently monitoring the first cycle. I have live sand, baked rock and one wet live from my reputable aqua store (about one fourth rock is live? By weight?) 

I'm a very slow going person, so I'm not in a rush. I'm enjoying the process. Though I'm at the point where I'd like some planning advice for the end goal, tube worm paradise

Atleast, I think I want that. 

I've been looking at corals for Christmas tree worms primarily, but I'm an absolute newbie and the more I read the less.. prepared I feel. Very open to species suggestions.

So. Any advice for the order of operations here? I don't plan to add anything for atleast another two weeks.

-Is clean up crew necessary for a filter feeder tank?

-Corals first? 

-Shrimp will eat tube worms ??

-Best choices for first additions to establish a healthy ecosystem?

Thank you!

Edited by WormLicker
Questions answered

Is it good live rock? You should be able to look at it and see lots of algae, sponges, mini tubeworms, and all sorts of things like that. It should be loads of colors. If it's just stark, painted purple, that's probably rock that's just been in a tub of water for awhile. Technically that'll have some bacteria, but for good biodiversity, you want rock that's been sat in the ocean for a few years and picked things up. 

Cleanup crew is required, yes, they eat algae and whatnot. 

Corals absolutely first. Tubeworms should only go in heavily established tanks, since they're filter-feeders. I'd give 'em quite awhile before you try to add any. 

Cleaner shrimp may pick at and annoy tubeworms.