inTank Media Baskets

FloridaMan's Aquatic Escape

FloridaMan

Hello Everyone!

Thank you for looking at my journal! I am creating this journal to document my tank’s progress. Hopefully, it will also keep me accountable and not allow me to neglect the tank.

History:

I have been a nano-reef stalker for at least 10 years. I have had several reef tanks in the past. My last tank, a 90-gallon mixed reef met its fate to hurricane Irma. After losing power for 12 days, my beautiful mixed reef turned into quite a disgusting fish stew. Due to my disappointment with that experience, I sold my previous tank and got out of the hobby for a while. Despite this, I continued to stalk nano-reef and I could tell that the reef bug would strike again.

Current tank:

I must admit, this was a bit of an impulse buy. Although I have been considering getting a new tank for the last year, I could not justify the cost/work associated with reef keeping. I am a medical student, and I don’t really have that much free time or funds to devote to reef keeping. However, after a particularly rough couple of months at school with several more on the way, I could not help myself. I went to the LFS, bought the first tank in sight, and had it set up within an hour.

Goals:

My goal is for this tank to be a low maintenance, soft coral dominated tank. I am going to try my absolute best to limit the bio-load to 1 fish. I am a zoa nut and would like to create a zoa garden. Throw in some Florida ricordeas, clove polyps, and I think that should be a reasonable tank to maintain under my current circumstances.

Start Date: 3/19/21

Equipment: 

Tank - IM Nuvo Fusion 10 gallon

Return - MightyJet 15W/24V 326 GPH DC Return Pump w/ Controller (included with tank)

Lighting - Maxpect R420R 60watt 16000k – bought it USED

Testing - API Saltwater Master Test Kit

Dry Rock – 6lbs

CaribSea Arag-Alive Bimini Pink Sand 10 lbs

I will try to update regularly. Thanks again for taking a look!