Pod Your Reef

Caribsea life rock

dottybackss

dottybackss

I just setup a 30 gallon long tank with 30 lbs of the Caribsea life rocks, 20 lbs live sand along with a Jebao sdw 9 and a AC 70 with a diy fuge. If the flow is good enough do I still need some bio media for the biological filtration? Before I always use 1 lb per gallon of real live rocks but this is my first time to use man-made live rock so I am not sure about their biological function.

SaltyGallon

It's good rock, used it successfully for a few tanks. Have you added a source of good bacteria, either bottled or from existing media?

• Thanks 1

It does have bacteria in it but the tank still needs to cycle therefore an ammonia source needs to be added and adding something like biospira would be beneficial too.

• Like 1
SaltyGallon
40 minutes ago, dottybackss said:

I brought the Friz Turbo Start this time but I haven't dose it yet since I don't have any livestock right now.

Look up Dr Tims bottled ammonia. Few drops of ammonia as needed + turbo start and you'll have a nice livestock ready tank in a couple weeks.

SaltyGallon
7 hours ago, Nathans_Reef said:

I Watched a Reef builders video on YouTube and he mentioned that Caribsea life rock has some sort of bacteria coating on it already. not sure how effective it is though.

I personally think it's marketing bs, but it sure supports good bacteria well enough once cycled...

• Like 1

Yeah I wouldn’t rely on the bacterial spores in the coating of the Liferock, but Fritz Turbostart is good. I like to have really strong biological filtration in my tanks so I don’t have to worry about a spike in ammonia if a big snail or fish dies, so I use a sack of matrix media in the back of each of my tanks for extra surface area for the beneficial bacteria in addition to the Caribsea Liferock.