Pod Your Reef

Watchman Goby Regrets: What I saw Horrified Me

NanoReefer2025

NanoReefer2025

Hello reefers,
I have some saddening news, for me anyway. Yesterday, I got a watchman goby from my LFS for my 25 gallon AIO that I set up last November. Acclimation went smooth enough. I added a little bit of tank water every five minutes for 45 minutes in all. After that it disappeared, but I wasn’t too concerned because I read that this is normal. Just 30 ish minutes ago, I checked on the tank and what I saw was horrific. The once-bright yellow goby was a sickly gray, its fins tattered, and my scarlet hermit crab enjoying its remains. Sorry, I don’t have any good pictures. I am not sure entirely what happened. I figured that perhaps the hermit crab was not getting enough food and cornered the goby in the burrow that it was digging. Or maybe the goby simply wasn’t strong enough to survive the stresses of moving to a new tank. I am very new in the hobby, so I could use any advice for avoiding this in the future.

• Sad 1

In my experience, the fish was already stressed and only got more stressed when you bought it. Not your fault, especially if you did acclimate it. 

It's happened to be before with a blue chromis. Bought it one night after work and it was dead the next morning. 

The scarlet hermit ate it after it had died. 

It sucks, but don't feel like you did something bad. This kind of stuff happens.

Keep acclimating the way you acclimated this fish. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
NanoReefer2025
1 hour ago, paulsz said:

In my experience, the fish was already stressed and only got more stressed when you bought it. Not your fault, especially if you did acclimate it. 

It's happened to be before with a blue chromis. Bought it one night after work and it was dead the next morning. 

The scarlet hermit ate it after it had died. 

It sucks, but don't feel like you did something bad. This kind of stuff happens.

Keep acclimating the way you acclimated this fish.