Innovative Marine Aquariums

Activated Carbon Filter?

jpaul727

Hello, I am very new to owning a freshwater tank. I didn't realize putting driftwood in the water would turn it yellow/brown, but after some research it seems to be tannins? I bought activated carbon, but didn't realize it was a filter pillow and it is way too big for my filter. I tried just floating it in the water near the filter, but it doesn't seem to be helping. Is this a longer process than 6-8 hours, or is it never going to work just floating in the water? Any help is greatly appreciated. My 5yo son will be so sad if his two new dwarf gouramis die. 

+1 on boiling to speed up leaching process if you’d like. Couple hours prob. At minimum you need to remove and scrub the wood with a brush to remove contaminants. Unless you did this previous to placing in tank. Along with a good water change. Some will soak their driftwood for a couple weeks to get the tannins out and allow wood to sink but you will still get tannins leaching as it breaks down. 

Tannins are not necessarily a bad thing for most freshwater systems. If you need to bring your PH down it can used to help accomplish this. Freshwater in nature is not always clear and has tannins in it due to driftwood, leaves, moss, etc. Gouramis come from black water and like many tropical plants will thrive in it. Although you most likely have fish bred in an aquafarm that are more suitable for home aquariums. The crystal clear tank water, just like our marine tanks, is more about aesthetics for us humans vs tank health. Depending. Fish should be just fine and son stay happy.