Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Candy Coral In Distress!

eferguson

I am new to reefing and just brought home my first batch of coral. My tank currently has a pair of clownfish a good size clean up crew and two peppermint shrimp that have been doing well since I brought them home a month ago. Half of my corals seem to be doing great and have opened up after moving them and a few of them (my candy coral specifically) seem to be dying. I got it from my local fish store around noon yesterday, brought it home and dipped it like the pet store instructed, and placed it at the top in a mid flow area in the tank. I noticed what looks like the coral receding and after some research moved it lower in the tank thinking the light is too much that high but this morning it looks much worse. Is there still hope for this coral? The flesh has all but gone away and the white bone structure is now exposed. 

Definitely very stressed, but not dead yet. 

What did you dip it in? 

What are your water parameters? Exact numbers, not just "good". 

What corals do you have that are alive and doing well? 

What light is it, what setting is the light at, and how far below it was the coral originally? 

How was the tank cycled, and for how long? Ocean rock, dry rock, something else? 

• Like 1

Unfortunately they don't usually come back once they're like this IME.  Low light and low flow for the best chance.  My opinion is shrimp prevent corals in this state from recovering.  The peppermint shrimp were probably picking at it at some point.   Once I had some success keeping shrimp at bay with a breeder box that I attached to the rim of the tank in a low flow/light area like the corner.