ReefCleaners.org

Low alkalinity and other questions ☺️

D.J.

Hi Everyone,

I feel like this might be a beginner question, but I’ve been in the hobby for a while with mild success...so, posting in general 😂. I’ve been in the hobby for years but had to take a break and have had this tank for nearly a year. 

Issue: alkalinity on my tank has been low for a while and has dropped pretty quickly over the past few weeks, but calcium is high. I have recently changed from using Tropic Marin Pro Reef to their Syn-Biotic because I realized the pro reef is designed to pair with dosing of alk/calcium and syn-biotic has closer to the parameters I want without dosing. I plan to use two part eventually. 

Other issue is that I have an algae out break that I’ve been fighting for several months but think I’m making progress on. I know the primary cause was due to a multi-week emergency that required a friend to take care of the tank and I had to quickly buy a bunch of filtered water from the store which likely leached phosphates into the tank and clogged the filtration, compounding the problem. I’m back in control of the tank, filtering my own ro/di to zero tds. I also did several rounds of the Dr Tim’s algae removal process on BRS, using refresh and waste away to reduce phosphates and eat the algae with bacteria. 

Setup:  about one year old tank, slowly added stock over the first 9 months or so, nothing added since. 

- 14 gallon innovative marine peninsula all in one

- AI hydra 32 (turned down pretty far with par between 150-270 throughout the tank at rock level)

- tunze 6050 controlled by apex with ramp up/down steadily throughout the day

- refugium with chaeto and IM chaetomax light running for 12 hours per day (opposite display light). Emptying chaeto once per month, growth has slowed over the past few months and I’ve corrected algae issues

- filter pad changed every 1-3 days

- extra biological filtration of four bio blocks in the filtration chambers

Feeding