Pod Your Reef

2 Part Dosing Issue

VitoD

I dosed Seachem Reef Fusion Part 1 (Calcium) in my tank and it created a what looked like a snow storm. What happened? I’ve been using Seachem 2 part for 2 years. This has never happened. 

The snow was precipitate.  This happens when one element pushes another out of suspension.

Insufficient magnesium can make this happen even when calcium and alkalinity numbers are normal.  Think of dosing two part as pouring the elements into a bucket.  The size of the bucket is determined by the magnesium level.  A smaller bucket means you'll lose stuff as you add things to the bucket.

The other problem is that you can't dose alkalinity and calcium at the same time, hence two part.  Ideally, you would dose them at different times of the day.  Some people go so far as to dose one one day, and the other the next day.

We (and you) need to know the level of magnesium, alkalinity, and calcium.  You shouldn't be dosing blindly.  Testing will tell you what you need to do.  It might be as simple a correcting a magnesium deficiency.

Water changes will also help correct water chemistry balance.  It will lower elevated levels and raise depleted levels.

• Like 1

Thank you, Seabass. 

I tested Ca & Alk on Sunday. Calcium - 400 (although just noticed my Calcium Red Sea test just expired 6/20) & Alk - 8.4. I have never tested for Mag per my LFS since they said my tank is small enough (20 gallon Red Sea Max Nano) that it will easily be replenished from water changes (20% every other week). Part 1 of Seachem Reef Fusion says that it has 5mg of Mag so I assumed that also replenishes the Mag as well. 

11 hours ago, VitoD said:

I dosed Seachem Reef Fusion Part 1 (Calcium) in my tank and it created a what looked like a snow storm.

1 hour ago, VitoD said:

I have never tested for Mag per my LFS since they said my tank is small enough (20 gallon Red Sea Max Nano) that it will easily be replenished from water changes (20% every other week).